Childhood Memories – feat. Dragon Pattern

27 Sep

I first became a Hooker (crocheter) to be more like my mother. Sadly I did not pick up this skill from her, but rather, I had to teach myself after her passing. My first project was a full-sized afghan that I wanted to match the bedroom in my new house.

I watched my mom hook away on this project and that project for hours and days. She offered a few times to teach me, but all I mastered was the chain stitch. I never bothered to learn any more than that. I was a kid, after all.

There’s one project that stands out in my mind – Puff. He’s a beautiful purple dragon that my mom crocheted for me. She had made one for my cousin, and I wanted one SO badly. So mom took me to the craft store and let me pick out yarn for him. At that point I was obsessed with the color purple.

Puff the Magic Dragon in all his purple glory

He was a great toy. Still is! Puff starred as the villain in many barbie-damsel-in-distress games where Ken defeated the evil dragon and took the princess to live happily ever after. He was the keeper of my dreams and the guardian of the bed to keep me safe from the monster in the closet. My mother took special care with this little guy and put a piece of herself in to him. When I hug him, I feel her. When I was 14 and going through the phase of getting rid of all my “baby” stuff, I wanted to give Puff away. My dad wouldn’t let me. A lot of my childhood stuff stayed. Thank you, Dad.

One of these days I plan to make a dragon just like this for my kids, but I don’t know if I’m brave enough to take on Amigurumi yet, though. If anybody has any input on how to go about tackling this pattern, please, fill me in! The copy of the pattern I have is so old it doesn’t even have the author or a source book printed on it. It’s an old yellowed photocopy from a book, written and scribbled on with my mother’s alterations to the pattern.

The full pattern of Puff is featured below. Sadly, I do not know its original source, and I have looked and looked. I’ve never been able to find a pattern anything like it. Its original title: Amethyst The Friendly Dragon. I shall call it Puff, since that was my dragon.

Puff the Magic Dragon

Purple Puff w/ mixed purple yarn

CROCHET

FINISHED SIZE: 12″ tall

MATERIALS: 4 ply Worsted Yarn, approx. – Medium: Lavender – 5 oz., Purple – 2 oz. Or colors of choice; jiggly eyes (2) or other eye object of choice; 1 button for nose

INSTRUCTIONS:

HEAD

Using lavender (color 1), ch 4, sl st to join. This starts nose end.

RNDS 1-2: 2 sc in each st around. (8) (16)

RND 3: *1 sc in the next st, 2 sc in the second st, reapeat from *around. (24)

RNDS 4-5: 1 sc in each st around. (24)

RND 6: 1 sc in the next st, working in the FL of the next st, 1 sc, 1hdc, 1 sc. This makes one nostril. Working in both loops, 1 sc in each of the next 3 sts. Working in the FL of the next st, 1 sc, 1 hdc, 1 sc to complete the second nostril. Working in both loops, continue 1 sc in each st around. (24).

RNDS 7-9: 1 sc in each st around. (24) Work in the BL of each nostril st.

RND 10: 2 sc in each of the next 8 sts, continue 1 sc in each st around. (32)

RND 11: 1 sc in each st around. (32)

RND 12: *1 sc in the next st, 2 sc in the second st, repeat from * around. (48)

RNDS 13-14: 1 sc in each st around. (48)

RND 15: 1 sc in each of the next 26 sts, 1 sc in each other st of the next 16 sts, continue 1 sc in each of the next 6 sts. (40)

RNDS 16-17: 1 sc in each st around. (40)

RND 18: 1 sc in each of the next 19 sts, 1 sc in every other st of the next 10 sts, 1 sc in the last st. (30) Add button nose detail before stuffing. Stuff and shape. Head will be bent and tacked to neck at completion.

NECK

RNDS 19-39: 1 sc in each st around. (30) Stuff neck lightly.

BODY

RND 40: *1 sc in each of the next 2 sts, 2 sc in the third st, repeat from * around. (40)

RND 41: 1 sc in each st around. (40)

RND 42: *1 sc in the next st, 2 sc in the second st, repeat from *around. (60)

RNDS 43-59: 1 sc in each st around. (60)

RND 60: *1 sc in each of the next 4 sts, skip the fifth st, 1 sc in the sixth st, repeat from *around. (50)

RND 61: *1 sc in each of the next 3 sts, skip the fourth st, 1 sc in the fifth st, repeat from *around. (40) Stuff and shape.

RND 62: *1 sc in each of the next 2 sts, skip the third st, 1 sc in the fourth st, repeat from *around. (30)

RND 63: *1 sc in the next st, skip the second st, 1 sc in the third st, repeat from *around. (20)

RND 64: *1 sc in each of the next 3 sts, skip the fourth st, 1 sc in the fifth st, repeat from *around. (16) Stuff and shape.

RND 65: 1 sc in every other st around. (8)

RND 66: Sl st in every other st around, to close the body opening. (4) Finish off, tucking this end.

TUMMY

Using purple (color 2), ch 8 and turn. (Work only in the BL of each st)

ROWS 1-6: 1 sc in each st (7) Ch 1 and turn.

ROWS 7-17: 2 sc in the first st, continue 1 sc in each st across. Ch 1 and turn. (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18)

ROWS 18-22: 1 sc in each st, continue 1 sc in each st. ch 1 and turn.

ROWS 23-39: Skip the first st, continue 1 sc in each st. ch 1 and turn. (17) (16) (15) (14) (13) (12) (11) (10) (9) (8) (7) (6) (5) (4) (3) (2) (1) Finish off, leaving this end approx. 20 inches long, to sew tummy onto body. Bend head to neck, shape, position and sew, tacking head underside of head at round 13 to front of neck at round 30. Place start of tummy at round 13 where head and neck are sewn. Using straight pins, pin tummy in place down the front of the body. Thread finishing end of yarn on to needle, sewing tummy on to body.

TAIL

Using lavender (color 1), ch 4, sl st to join. This begins pointed end of tail.

RND 1: 2 sc in each st around. (8)

RND 2: 1 sc in each st around. (8)

RNDS 3-31: 2 sc in the first st, continue 1 sc in each st around. (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) (26) (27) (28) (29) (30) (31) (32) (33) (34) (35) (36) (37) Finish off, leaving this end approx. 12 inches long. This end will be used to sew the tail onto the body. Stuff and shape tail. Sew tail onto the back of the body.

TAIL & BODY TRIM

Using purple (color 2), attach yarn to end of tail, *1 sc (into the end of the tail), ch 4, 1 sc in the same st. (work sc(s) between the rnds) 1 sc between each of the next 2 rnds, repeat from *working up the center of the tail, back, neck, onto the top of the head. Sl st to join. Finish off, tucking ends. Shape.

ARMS (MAKE 2)

Using lavendar (color 1), ch 4, sl st to join.

RNDS 1-2: 2 sc in each st. around. (8) (16)

RNDS 3-19: 1 sc in each st around. (16)

RND 20: *1 sc in the next st, 2 sc in the second st, repeat from * around (24)

RNDS 21-23: 1 sc in each st around. (24) Stuff arm lightly and shape.

RND 24: *1 sc in the next st, skip the second st, 1 sc in the third st, repeat from * around. (16)

RND 25: 1 sc in every other st around. (8)

RND. 26: Sl st in every other st around to close the arm opening. (4) Finish off and shape, sewing arm onto the side of the body. Tacking hands together is optional.

LEGS (MAKE 2)

Using lavender (color 1), ch 4, sl st to join.

RNDS 1-3: 2 sc in each st around. (8) (16) (32)

RNDS 4-13: 1 sc in each st around. (32)

RND 14: *1 sc in each of the next 2 sts, skip the third st, 1 sc in the fourth st, repeat from *around. (24)

RND 15: 1 sc in each st around. (24)

RND 16: *1 sc in the next st, skip the second st, 1 sc in the third st, repeat from *around. (16)

RND 17: 2 sc in each of the next 8 sts, continue 1 sc in each st around. (24)

RNDS 18-22: 1 sc in each st around. (24) Stuff and shape.

RND 23: *1 sc in the next st, skip the second st, 1 sc in the third st, repeat from *around. (16)

RND 24: 1 sc in every other st around. (8)

RND 25: Sl st in every other st around, to close the foot opening. (4) Finish off, tucking end. Flatten upper portion of leg to shape, sewing upper portion of leg to the side of the body.

WINGS (MAKE 2)

Using purple (color 2), ch 4, sl st to join.

RND 1: 2 sc in each st around. (8)

RND 2: 1 sc in each st around. (8)

RNDS 3-14: 2 sc in the first st, continue 1 sc in each st around. (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) Shape by flattening into triangle shape. Ch 2 and turn, working between the rnds to make trim, 1 sc, ch 2, 1 sc between the next rnd, repeat from * working in the edge of the wing between rnds to the tip of the wing, sl st to joing. Finish off, tucking ends. Sew wings onto the back side of the body.

FINISHING

Cut face out of felt and glue on. Or see above instructions in HEAD. Sew on jiggly eyes.

Finished Puff

And there you have it. The full pattern with all alterations my mother added, and a few errors fixed by her notes. This pattern has made many well-loved toys in my family. I do hope it’ll warm your home too!

9 Responses to “Childhood Memories – feat. Dragon Pattern”

  1. ginger cooper September 27, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    That dragon is too cool. i was thinking bout vicky “your mom” today sometimes she is not far from my thoughts. you are very blessed to have something she made for you…i have all the memeories of the times she helped me to be a stronger person by lifting me up and pullling me along; even though i never had a clue she was doing it.

  2. Kari February 25, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    I remember the book that Amethyst (your Puff) was from. There were a lot of great crochet and knit toys in it. Couldn’t tell you the name of the book or publisher for trying. Thank you for posting the pattern as the book has been out of print for a very long time and my copy was lost. Now all I have to do is brush up on some very rusty crochet skills as knitting has been my strength for many years. Thank you again for sharing the pattern and the memories. Hugs.

    • Vita February 28, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

      Keep me updated on your adventure! I’m glad this little dragon could warm someone’s heart. I have yarn to make him. I need to just make myself do it!

  3. Gwen Webster February 28, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Kari is my youngest daughter. She was so delighted to “stumble” on your pattern for the Dragon. I made so many of them that I lost count. I made them as guardians for new born babies. Usually white with the multicoloured baby yarn for tummy, ridges etc. Then I put a nosegay of silk flowers in his hands and delivered him to many delighted mom’s I also sent them to sick friends and then made them in colours that they liked. I have begged, pleaded and just plain looked every where for this and had given up hope of ever finding it again. I will tackle my little dragon this afternoon and see how much I can get done. Hope I can do it as quickly as I once did.!! Thank you so much and I will send pictures once he is done. Gwen W.

    • Vita February 28, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

      I’ve loved this dragon quite dearly (the one in the pictures). I stumbled upon the pattern in my mother’s crochet things when I was filtering through them after she passed away. I am so glad this pattern will bring joy to other people! I love to hear the stories and I can’t wait to see pictures!

  4. tori March 26, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Thank you so much for posting this!!!! I read puff the magic dragon to my best friends son, and i sing it while im reading. So going to make this for his birthday.

  5. Patsy Morgan April 14, 2013 at 12:18 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing the pattern for Puff. He is one of my favorite characters and I still love the song even though I am almost 60. (what already?) LOL I love the fact he was in with your Barbie games. I thought I was the only one who’s Barbie had so many crazy adventures.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kung Hei Fat Choy Happy New Year - January 22, 2012

    […] Puff the dragon […]

  2. May the Force Be With You | Hookin' Up With Vita - July 3, 2013

    […] I think I may have mastered the basic skills enough to tackle Puff the Magic Dragon. […]

Leave a Reply

